Skip to content

Shamburgers

August 21, 2012

Roller skating was about the only entertainment in town as I was growing up. Well, at least in my little world.

The grade school gym was huge in my little eyes and every recess during the winter months was filled with roller skating. Saturday night entertainment often was family skating time. Yes, skating was really the only game in town!

My parents were older when I came along so Mom would join a few other ladies in the kitchen to make Shamburgers while we skated. That was way before you could purchase pre-made vegetarian burgers in the freezer section at the store.

I no longer skate except at my Granddaughter’s school parties and I no longer have the capabilities to skate fast or backwards but images of Shamburgers always come to mind whenever I slip on a pair of skates.

Vienne started back to school this week and my hunger for a great Shamburger returned with a vengeance. Since I’m in the midst of exploring “real food” ingredients, baking a good 100% whole wheat bun was a must.

I hope you enjoy this hamburger bun recipe and I’ve also tacked on my favorite burger recipe to go with it. Enjoy!

 

100% Whole Wheat Hamburger Bun

Makes 8

2 cups 100% White Whole Wheat (King Arthurs)

½ tsp salt

1 T dry active yeast

¼ cup vital wheat gluten

1 cup skim or 1% milk

4 T butter or olive oil

¼ cup honey

1 egg

 

Place all but ½ cup of the flour and all the dry ingredient list in the mixing bowl and mix well.

 

Heat the milk, honey and butter or oil in the microwave for about 1 minute.  The temperature of the mixture should be between 115-120 degrees.

 

Turn on mixer and pour in the milk mixture and the egg.  Mix well scraping in the dry ingredients from the bottom of the bowl.  The key is to not add too much flour but if the dough is sticking to the sides of the bowl, sprinkle in more flour.  Stop as soon as the sides pull clean but sticking at the bottom is ok.  Let mix or knead for 5-8 minutes.

 

Take out the dough hook and cover with plastic wrap.  Let rise until double.  I know this sounds strange but I sprinkle the top of my dough with water for added moisture.  It seems to let the dough rise better.

 

Uncover the bowl and place the dough on a lightly floured surface.  Knead a few times and divide the dough into 8 pieces.  Knead each ball and flatten before placing on the greased baking pan.  Cover with a towel and let it rise.

 

Remove the towel and place another baking pan on top of the buns and press down.  This makes the dough spread out into the bun size needed.  Brush the tops with water and place the towel on top again.  Let rise about 10 minutes.

 

Bake buns at 425 degrees for 10-12 minutes.  Brush with butter or oil when they are done.  Will keep about 5 days and can be frozen for later use.

 

 

Shamburger/Vegeburgers

1 can Worthington Vegetarian Burger

1 pkg. Lipton Onion Soup Mix

1/2 or more dry Seasoned Bread Crumbs

4-6 eggs
Mix all together.  Fry in light Olive Oil until done in the middle.  Makes 8 burgers.

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeri permalink
    August 21, 2012 2:38 pm

    Oh, those memories of skating!! And I agree, it is still fun to put on a pair of skates and skate with Vienne!!

  2. Larry Crawford permalink
    August 21, 2012 3:28 pm

    Hi Pat,

    I am so happy to see your post this morning. I was just thinking about you yesterday and realized I hadn’t seen a recipe from you in a very long time. I wondered if you left blogland or I disappeared. The shamburgers look sooo good. Sounds like supper this evening with fresh garden trimmings. Thanks for sharing!

    Cheryl

    • August 21, 2012 4:53 pm

      I’m so glad someone misses me!!! I quit because I was so burned out by it all, and that came as a surprise to me! Actually thought I would not pick it up again but then here I am again doing it. Food is just to fascinating to me! Good to hear from you!

  3. August 21, 2012 3:33 pm

    I’ve never seen vital wheat gluten. Is that a specialty item? I’d love to try these!

    • August 21, 2012 4:50 pm

      Check the baking isle especially where they sell the bread baking products. Here it comes in a little brown box about the size of a soda box. Also health food stores carry it as well. It helps develop the gluten strands when making bread. Hope you find it.

    • Lynne Rose permalink
      August 22, 2012 12:18 am

      Even our Walmart carries Vital Wheat Gluten. Look for it in the baking aisle. Thank you Pat for another awesome recipe! Your Mock Chicken Alpine Shells are still one of our family’s favorites. We had them at a dinner at Union over 10 years ago and think of you every time I make them. ;-)

  4. This is your daughter, Rochelle Denise. permalink*
    August 21, 2012 3:58 pm

    So cool that you’re exploring the “real foods” thing. I started out strong and then last night I bought a weeks worth of pre-packaged frozen meals for lunch. Another reason I wish I lived closer. It would be fun to spend a couple hours on Sunday working through a menu and finding recipes and preparing for the week.

    Maybe I’ll dust off my blog and start posting my real food recipes and etc. To keep me motivated!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

