Skip to content

Fluffy Raspberry Pie

February 18, 2010

Photo by Gerik Parmele

Today I made Fluffy Raspberry Pie for my sweetheart for Valentine’s Day.  I can make it from memory I’ve made it so much.  A dollop of this, a pinch of that, splash, splash and on it goes.

Don’t you love those old favorite jewels in your recipe box.  They sparkle the moment you open the recipe box or book and beg to be lovingly made again.  Is there a reason I always plan a menu starting with dessert or is it just done that way by everyone?  I see heads nodding out there . . . I see you!!!

Where do those jewels of the recipe box come from anyway?  As I thumb through my favorites, I realize that they come from friends, a friend of a friend, family members and the neighbor next door.  The card is splashed with ingredients and it looks well used.  I wonder, will my great grandchildren know which one was great Ah-Joe’s favorite pie recipe just by looking at it?  I hope so.

Fluffy Raspberry Pie made its way to me about 40 years ago from my sister Sharon’s BFF Doreen.  However, BFF Doreen just e-mailed me and said that she had always been under the impression she’d gotten it from me.

Oh well, it’s one of my jewels now and today it will tell the sweet old man in my life how very much I love him.

Fluffy Raspberry Pie

8 servings

1  unbaked 9 ” pie crust

Cheesecake Filling:

12 ounces cream cheese, room temp.

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs, beaten

tiny sprinkle of salt

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup sour cream

Mix the sugar into the cream cheese but do not beat.  Add small amounts of the egg and stir in well before adding more.  Add the salt and vanilla and pour into the unbaked pie shell.  Prick the shell above the filling.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes or until the filling looks like a dome but isn’t brown.  Remove from the oven and cool slightly.

Spread 1 cup of sour cream over the top of the baked filling, keeping away from the sides.  Chill the pie.

Fluffy Raspberry Filling

1 package of frozen IQF raspberries (12 ounces)

3/4 cup of sugar

5 tsp. of corn starch

1/2 cup water

12 ounces of whipping cream

Mix the sugar and corn starch together and place in a saucepan with the raspberries and water.  Cook while stirring until the raspberries are thick and glossy.  Cool in the refrigerator.  The raspberry mixture will be very thick but that is what you want.

Whip the cream until thick and fluffy.  Stir in the cold raspberry filling and stir until evenly distributed.  Top the pie with the filling and swirl the top.  Place in refrigerator at least 6 hours, overnight is best.

Note: Photos are by Gerik Parmele:  Gerik.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 1:26 am

    Love the photography on this one. Gerik did a fantastic job. Once again, the picture is so good I can almost taste it!

  2. Sharon permalink
    February 20, 2010 5:04 pm

    Oh, I love reading your blog, the pictures are so perfect and your stories are so you, Pat. Love, love you. My copy of that recipe is on a little piece of paper, written in Mom’s careful, pretty and little handwriting. I treasure it but really don’t know original origin and thats so fun to think about…..its just floating around out there, loved by many.

  3. March 24, 2010 8:04 pm

    I made it yesterday! It is delicious! Love your blog and look forward to trying many more recipes from it. Next on my list is the delightful salad my family has been telling me all about. Then the fish tacos!

    Thank you!

  4. November 28, 2010 3:11 pm

    This is an amazing recipe! Thank you so much for sharing. I have been trying and finding different recipes for pies and I am glad that I have fond your site. Hope this one works out. Kudos to you!

Leave a Reply

