Skip to content

Swiss Steak

June 1, 2010

Photo by Gerik Parmele

Mom made the best Swiss Steak. It was one of her all time favorite dishes to serve for company. Upon eating my mom’s Swiss Steak for the first time, my future husband was smart enough to realize marrying her daughter would ensure a lifetime of occasional Swiss Steak dinners and he was right! Actually I thought Mom was bribing him to marry me so that she could enjoy an empty nest after 40 years of raising kids. What ever the reason, the tradition of making this dish for special occasions still lives on in our household.

Over the years I have revised Mom’s recipe here and there. It still has the same great taste but now that the grocery store stocks wonderful shortcuts such as Onion Soup Mix, Gravy Mixes, and flavorful canned tomatoes, this delectable dish is now much easier to throw together than it once was.

Ingredients:

2 lbs cube steak or other tenderized steaks

1 package of Lipton Onion Soup Mix

1 can Stewed Tomatoes ( I prefer fire roasted)

2 pkgs. Brown Gravy mix – a good brand

1 ¼ cups water

1 onion, sliced thickly, separate into rings

Sprinkle steaks with salt and seasoned pepper before dredging in flour. Fry steaks in oil until crispy brown on both sides.

In a microwave bowl, mix the soup mix, tomatoes, gravy mixes and water together and microwave on high until it becomes a glossy gravy. Stir occasionally while cooking.

In a baking dish, sprinkle the onion rings on the bottom and layer the steaks on top. If the steaks overlap each other, use onion rings to separate them. This allows the gravy to fill the spaces between the steaks.

Pour the hot gravy over the steaks and cover the pan with foil. Bake at 325 degrees for about 1 ½ hours or longer if the steaks are thicker. I use a thermometer to test for doneness. It’s 165 degrees for my tastes.

The side dish of choice for our house is a huge spoon full of mashers along side the finished steak. The mashed potatoes I did this time were seasoned with browned butter and garlic.Yummy!

Photo by Gerik Parmele

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chelle permalink*
    June 2, 2010 4:10 am

    This is the recipe Lori begs me to make most often. And as I said in my email today, this recipe is totally different than the one you wrote into my cookbook.

    I’m sure Lori will be devastated that I have to make this meal this week. Must test out the new and rate it against the old you understand. 😀

Leave a Reply

