Skip to content

Fresh Peach Cheesecake

July 21, 2010

Photo by Gerik

Peach season is one of my favorite times of the year.  From the first blush of the season in June to the late, lush peaches in mid summer-  fresh peach jam, pie, and sliced peaches with cream practically defines Summer for me.

A few days ago, a bunch of fresh peaches made its way to my kitchen. What to do? My Mother’s fresh peach cheesecake was the first dessert I thought of making but oh, the work involved in making it from scratch! Then it dawned on me that I could take some shortcuts. So pencil in hand, I rewrote the recipe.  It still dirties a lot of dishes but using new techniques to replace old tedious ones now makes this recipe easy. (Almost…)

This recipe is another old favorite from childhood. It was something my mom saved for company because it really made a stunning statement on the dinner table.  This dessert wasn’t served up in the kitchen but placed front and center in all its glory with accompanying ooh’s and aw’s from  guests and family.  She would pronounce the “Lorren Blessing” of “It’s probably not fit to eat” before cutting and serving it to her eagerly awaiting audience.  We all would smile knowing that it was going to be spectacular.

Tasting fresh peaches in their glory is a good reason to spend a little time and indulge in this beautiful dessert.  Tonight we are going to enjoy its delicate flavors and celebrate a Mom who enjoyed the process of cooking beautiful things for her family.

Fresh Peach Cheesecake

Photo by Gerik

Makes 12 servings

Make the following in order given:

Crust

  • 4 graham crackers
  • 2 T sugar
  • sprinkle of nutmeg
  • 2 T melted butter

In food processor, process the crackers until fine and add the rest of the ingredients.  Process well.  Press crumbs into bottom of a 9 inch spring-form pan.  Bake at 425 degrees for 10 minutes then place in the refrigerator to cool.

Cheesecake filling

  • 1 cup diced fresh peaches
  • 1 T fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4th cup powdered sugar

Mix ingredients in a small bowl and let sit on the counter while making the other components

  • 3 pkg. unflavored gelatin
  • 1 cup orange juice

Mix together in a glass measuring cup or bowl and warm in the microwave until dissolved
Place mixture in the refrigerator to cool until slightly thickened – about 1 hour.  Stir occasionally.

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 16 oz cream cheese softened (or ricotta cheese)
  • 1 T. orange zest

Mix together until smooth.  Set aside.

  • 2 egg whites, whipped just before assembly (I used Meringue Powder)
  • 1 cup whipping cream, whip just before assembly

Assembly instructions:

When the gelatin mixture is goopy thick, place it in a mixing bowl and whip until fluffy and thick.  Stir in the peach mixture.
Add the cream cheese mixture
Add the stiffly whipped egg whites
Add the whipped cream
Fold in everything until well incorporated and then scoop into the crust lined spring-form pan.
Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 6 hours, overnight it best.
Loosen the sides with a knife and push up the pan from the bottom and place cheesecake on a large serving plate.
Garnish with more whipped cream and sliced peaches just before serving.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Vicki Rutherford permalink
    July 21, 2010 7:07 pm

    Do you have any nutritional statistics on this one? Seems like it must be MUCH lighter than a regular cheesecake. I like that there is very little crust; the emphasis is on the peaches!

    • July 21, 2010 7:42 pm

      I don’t have nutritional analysis at the moment but will put it through my program and post it for you.

  2. Vicki Rutherford permalink
    July 29, 2010 10:37 pm

    Me, again. I made the peach cheesecake over the weekend and have mixed feelings about it. First, I must say that I have a difficult time following a recipe exactly — it’s one of my worst faults, I think. So, I changed out the graham cracker crust for one made with crushed ginger snaps. YUM! Really “kicked it up a notch.” Then, I divided the recipe between 2 scallop-edged tart/quiche pans because I was afraid it might be so rich that a large, tall slice would be too decadent. That was OK, too. The cheesecake released quite nicely from the pans and presented prettily on the cake pedestal. (Nope, I forgot to take a picture.)

    However, the part that I had trouble with was the 3 packages of unflavored gelatin. I used the Knox variety and, since I didn’t have orange juice, I used white grape juice instead. The gelatin/juice mixture hardened so quickly in the refrigerator that I had to partially melt it in the microwave in order to be able to put it in my standing mixer for fluffing. Big trouble… it did not fluff or get lighter. It just got goopier and stickier… I tried melting it again… yuck. Finally, I added the peach/lemon juice/sugar mixture hoping it would loosen it up. Sort of… Gave up and finished the recipe with it as it was. It all came out fine, tasted fine, etc. BUT every once in a while, we’d get a bite of something that resembled very firm tapioca bits or gummy bear bits… weird and a bit off-putting.

    My husband (who just finished making 4 batches of cookies, 4 different varieties) and I want to play with the recipe some more. Any suggestions? We’d like to try peach nectar instead of the orange juice to UP the peach flavor. Also, it seems to beg for more peaches in the cheesy mix. Have you tried that and how does it work? Have you tried regular Jello — the kind with sugar already in the mix… perhaps a peach flavored Jello? Bad idea?

    A little concerned about the raw egg whites… just a little concerned. I’m not really a squeamish person in that regards as I enjoy raw-milk cheeses, meringues on pies, etc. But just wondered if you’ve had any questions raised on this issue.

    Lavender jelly? Oh, please send the recipe soon! Lavender is one of my most favorite things in the world to enjoy , especially in culinary applications. Have you had Tully’s Lavender White Chocolate Mocha? Oh, my!

    • July 29, 2010 11:25 pm

      Ahhh, an experimental cook . . . have at it, girl! You have some lovely ideas and I would love to hear what you finally come up with as the best taste. Egg whites – try Wilton Meringue Powder, just follow the directions on the can. That is what I use when the egg whites are to be eaten raw. I agree that the hard part of this recipe is to know when to whip the gelatin. It’s always good to keep an eye on it and stir often so that it cools evenly to that syrupy consistency.

      And one more thing . . . try instant Peach Ice Tea mix . . . just a little bit to bump up that peach flavor. I use it in my peach pies and I love it.

      • Vicki Rutherford permalink
        July 30, 2010 2:53 am

        Ah-ha! Peach Ice Tea mix! When do you recommend putting that in? With the gelatin, cheese, chopped peaches??? Might even be nice in the cream before whipping… hmmmm…

        We will try this recipe again this summer! Thanks!

    • September 6, 2014 7:59 pm

      Hi Vicky!!! I’m so glad you’re experimenting on the recipe! But the reason why your gelatin did not fluff up is because you used grape juice. Even if it is white grape juice. Orange juice has a citric acid that fluffs up the consistency of the gelatin, grape juice does not have citric acid. Also, read the directions before you start baking to know what you need to get at the store. Another reason why your unflavored gelatin/orange juice mixture did not fluff was because you did not check on it or stir it every once in a while, like the recipe said. And to start experimenting with a recipe you must follow the recipe the first time you try it. And do not put any peach flavoring in your recipe that is not natural. Natural flavoring, like peach juice will, as you say, peach it up!
      Good luck
      Jenna and Tori ages 16! 🙂

  3. Jenna Anderson permalink
    September 6, 2014 7:37 pm

    So great recipe! I used this recipe for a birthday for a relative tasted amazing and will make this again… But for the crust I had to get extra supplies because of the lack of circumferance and also it burned the first time. I would double the crust and only bake the crust for 7 min. Also it does not take an hour for the gelatin mixture only about 25 min.

  4. Vickie permalink
    August 10, 2015 3:43 pm

    is it 3 envelopes of gelatine? or 3 full boxes????

    • August 10, 2015 3:56 pm

      Wow, I really made that clear as mud, It should be 3 envelopes. Thanks for helping me clarify that!

  5. Ondie permalink
    June 18, 2017 11:39 pm

    I made this twice. The first one (my first attempt at a cheesecake ever) was eh. I stupid,you missed the step where you bake the cruzt, but I also had massive issues with the gelatin. I understood “goofy thick” to be as jello in his usual form. Needless to say my crust fell apart I had blobs of gelatin in the cake. The next time Itripled the amount of Graham Crackers since I found the the same be a bit thin, I did temper the bake it though lol. I found 10 minutes way to much, m

    • Ondie permalink
      June 18, 2017 11:43 pm

      Sorry, my tablet messed up. My crust took 5 minutes in my gas oven. It took me 4 tries to figure out the gelatin, and they key is really just keep a VERY VERY close eye on it and stir it. I did 10 minutes the first time, then 2 more intervals of 7 minutes and it was the thick syrup consistently described in the comments. In the first one I also found the peach flavor lacking so I added some freeze dried peaches I pulverized. We love the flavor but still find it to be more orangey rather than peachy

      • June 19, 2017 12:05 am

        I’m so glad you tried the recipe and were persistent. It is a bit tricky as you found out but so light and delightful in the end. If you make it again, try adding just a small bit of instant peach ice tea mix. When I make peach pie I found it just the trick to bump up the peach flavor. Although I have not tried it on this recipe I would think it would be a great addition.

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Incredible Recipes for National Cheesecake Day | Yummly

Leave a Reply

