Skip to content

Chicken Marsala

November 29, 2010

Photo by Gerik

It is said that everyone who enters our life leaves a footprint. Little did I know that my friend, Somsri, would have more left in her life than a bruised heart and broken promises.

Chicken Marsala has always been a favorite of mine. The smooth velvet sauce could be served on toast and it would be divine. Every recipe I would find as I scoured through recipe books and magazines would be tested, tried and enjoyed. I had a favorite until . .,

Somsri dated and was about to marry a true Italian man. One day she mentioned to him that we needed a drop dead recipe for Chicken Marsala for the catering business. He responded with his mother’s treasured family recipe. It was made differently than others I have seen and so we made it for our next party. I like to tease my cooks, when something is really really good by saying “forget the chicken, just hand me a straw ” This was one of those times.

Unfortunately the man of her dreams came and went but he left her with the most wonderful Chicken Marsala recipe.

I have served this sauce over crispy breaded chicken cutlets with noodles as well as vegetarian chicken. Currently I’m using the Quorn Chicken Patties, as my vegetarian choice. They are quick and delicious. On a cool winter’s night I’ve also folded in rotisserie chicken pieces for a quick meal over rice. Next, I think I will make Marsala soup, hmmmm.

Marsala Cream Sauce over Chicken and Noodles

Sauce:
½ cup butter
¼ cup olive oil
1 cup diced onions
⅔ cup sliced green onions
3 cups sliced mushrooms
2 tsp. salt
1 T. minced garlic
1 tsp. black pepper
6 large portabella mushrooms

Heat the butter and olive oil in a large skillet. Clean and cut the portabella mushrooms into large cubes (I like to use baby portabellas sliced). Saute the above until the mushrooms are almost done.

Add the following to the sauce:
1 T. balsamic vinegar
8 oz. Marsala wine
2 cups whipping cream
½  cup butter cut into cubes

Heat slowly until the butter has melted. Thicken the sauce with a little cornstarch and water slurry. It should be a nice velvety sauce that coats the spoon.

This sauce is very forgiving in that you can make it in advance and gently reheat when needed.
The picture shows the sauce is served over sliced Quorn (Brand) Breaded Chicken Patties with fettuccine noodles.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

