Skip to content

Chocolate Almond Torte

December 20, 2010

Photo by Gerik

Traditional dessert recipes for Christmas dinner are really important.  I believe in traditions but a good chocolate dessert is a must in my estimation.  It doesn’t need to be big or overwhelming but just a little slice of something chocolate along side the pumpkin pie makes an exclamation point at the meal of a great meal.

This Chocolate Almond Torte does just that for me.  I slice the torte into thin slices, maybe 12-16 pieces from a 8-inch torte, because it is so rich.  Just a little bit is all it takes.

The origins of the recipe has long ago escaped me but the delightful taste of this cake will put the  jingle in  my jingle bells this Christmas!

Chocolate Almond Torte

¾ cup butter
6 T cocoa powder (Hershey’s is a good brand)
1 c sugar, divided
⅔ c ground blanched almonds
2 T flour
3 eggs, separated
2 T water
½ recipe Chocolate Ganache (recipe below)

Melt butter in a medium saucepan over low heat.  Stir in the cocoa and ¾ c. sugar, blend until smooth.  Remove from heat.  Cool 5 minutes.  Blend in almonds and flour.  Beat in egg yolks one at a time.  Stir in water.  In a mixing bowl, beat the egg whites until foamy.  Gradually add remaining sugar, beating just until soft peaks form.  Gently fold chocolate mixture into the egg whites, blending thoroughly.  Pour into a greased and floured 8 or 9-inch layer pan (I usually add a sheet of wad paper in the bottom just to make sure it comes out looking great).  Bake at 350 degree for 30 minutes.  The cake will settle slightly which is fine.  Remove from pan onto wire rack.  Cool completely.

Pour a medium thick chocolate ganache over the cake, tilting the cake so that it runs down the sides and completely covers the cake. A spatula helps to cover the sides.  Jiggle the cake to smooth out the top and let the cake sit until the chocolate sets up.  Cake may be refrigerated for later use.

I used regular chocolate frosting to garnish the cake and added fresh raspberries to finish.

Chocolate Ganache
1 lb. semisweet chocolate chips
2 cups heavy cream

Melt the chocolate with the cream in a heavy saucepan over low heat.  Stir constantly until it is smooth and glossy. When the ganache is thick but still porable, pour it over the center of the  cake.  Use a spatula to smooth it over the sides and then jiggle the cake to smooth the top.  After the cake is set you can melt some chocolate chips to use to make a design on the top of the cake . . . . just for fun!!!  I put the melted chocolate chips in a zip lock bag and then cut a tiny hole in the corner.  String out a design of your choice.  I just love the dark on dark look.  Classy!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Chelle Parmele permalink*
    December 20, 2010 5:01 pm

    Was this one from Linda? Or… no, that was the flourless one. Right?

    Looks lovely, mom. Wish I could be there for Christmas.

    • December 20, 2010 5:50 pm

      Me too, Sweetheart!! This recipe came before the “Linda” Era. Just goes to show that it’s always good to make note about where the recipe comes from. I looked on the web and didn’t see it there either. Hmmmm!

  2. January 24, 2011 3:24 am

    Hi Pat,

    I just found this recipe on your blog while searching for ‘chocolate almond cake’. I must say – it’s one of the most delicious cakes I’ve ever made. I love baking – and my excuse today was morning tea guests. Two other mums + 6 children and everyone LOVED it (especially my 3 year old daughter who has a very sweet tooth). My version unfortunately looked like a shriveled up mud pie and I only dusted it with icing sugar, but the amazing taste mad up for the lack of visual appeal.

    I’ve also seen some lovely vegetarian dishes on here which I will be adding to my repertoire.

    Thanks

    Nicole

    • January 24, 2011 3:27 am

      Thanks, Nicole. It was fun to hear from someone who has tried the recipe. You made my day! ~p

  3. Jeri Herrera permalink
    February 22, 2011 10:57 pm

    Pat, what a wonderful sight. I loved it!! Now I want to go home and try some of these recipes! jeri

Leave a Reply

