Skip to content

Snowball Cake with Blueberry Sauce

January 3, 2011

Photo by Gerik

Most of my life I have listened to my mother lament her lost recipe for snowball cake. She brought up the topic every January. According to her, it was a white cake flavored with coconut, frosted with whipped cream and shredded coconut then left to cure a week or more on the sleeping porch during the coldest part of winter.   She would close her eyes and verbally taste the wonderful flavors as she spoke.

Many years have passed and on one of my trips to the Amazon in Brazil, I came across a white cake drizzled with a mixture of sweetened condensed milk mixed with coconut milk and whole milk. The cake is then frosted with whip cream and topped with coconut. The students who came to college from Brazil often requested the cake and eventually helped our baker make the recipe because it was so loved by them. Many of you know this cake by the name of Tres Leche Cake. The Brazilian girls also added crushed pineapple to the top of the cake before spreading on the whip cream. Somehow I failed to make the connection to my Mom’s recipe.

Then it happened. Tanya, my daughter-in-law, said in passing, “I tasted the best coconut cake, it has coconut milk poured over it!” Then it all came together. Mom loved coconut and she often bought fresh coconuts at the store to make into yummy things. Do you suppose she made her own fresh coconut milk and this was the cake she made? It’s a small world, isn’t it!

This Snowball Cake recipe is quick and easy. Not as sweet as the Tres Leche Cake but full of the good coconut flavor I love. I’m not sure I would want my cake hanging around on the porch in the dead of winter for a week or two like my mother so I’ll enjoy it now.

Snowball Cake with Blueberry Sauce

1 Duncan Hines White Cake Mix
½ cup sour cream
1 can coconut milk
2 cups whipping cream, whipped and sweetened
1/2 pkg. angel flake coconut

Make the cake according to the package directions except add ½ cup sour cream. Bake in 3 8-inch wax paper lined cake pans. Bake according to directions.

When the cake is removed from the oven, poke holes in each cake with a wooden chopstick and pour the can of coconut milk (shaken first) over all. Let the cake cool and then refrigerate in the pans.

The cake layers should be cold when assembling the cake. Place each cake pan into about 1 inch of warm water for at least a minute to loosen the cake from the bottom of the baking pan,.  I also go around the outside with a knife to be sure the cake is free and ready to release. Turn cake out onto the cake platter. Peel off the wax paper and spread whipped cream over top. Continue stacking the layers.

Frost the outside of the cake with the whipped cream. Press the coconut into the sides and top of the cake. Refrigerate the cake until serving time.

Blueberry Sauce

Photo by Gerik

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

2 cups frozen blueberries, thawed
¼ c. water
1 c. orange juice
¾ c. white sugar
¼ c. corn syrup (provides shine)
¼ c. cold water
3 T. cornstarch
¼ tsp. almond extract
⅛ tsp. ground cinnamon

In a saucepan combine the blueberries, ¼ c. water, orange juice, corn syrup and sugar. Stir gently and bring to a boil.

In a cup, mix together the cornstarch and ¼ c. cold water until smooth. Gently stir the cornstarch mixture into the hot blueberries so you don’t break up the blueberries. Simmer gently until thickened. Remove from heat and stir in the almond extract and cinnamon.  Chill sauce until serving time.

Frosted Blueberries

2 tsp. meringue powder (Wilton)

2 tsp. water

1 c. clean fresh blueberries

1 cup sugar

Mix the powder and water together in a bowl.  Pour in the blueberries and toss gently to coat the blueberries.

Pour sugar on cookie sheet and push back and forth to distribute.  Drain the blueberries and place on the cookie sheet.  Push sheet back and forth to roll the berries in the sugar to coat.  You may have to assist them since they are not perfectly round.  Let berries dry a few hours.  Place on cake.

Photo by Gerik

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 1:37 am

    Your cake looks wonderful! I really like the blueberry sauce on the white coconut, so pretty!

  2. Cheri Easley permalink
    January 6, 2011 11:57 pm

    Pat –
    I’m so excited to make this cake! When I was reading it the other evening, I told Paul……YUMMY! I’m excited to make this and I’m sure it will be a favorite! Thank you for sharing these yummy recipes. Such a great opportunity to be able to share .

    • January 7, 2011 12:16 am

      I’m excited that you want to try it, Cheri. It’s people like you that keep me going!!! Enjoy . . . . and let me know how you like it – favorite or not so much!!

      • Cheri Easley permalink
        January 10, 2011 3:52 pm

        Will definitely give you the review. We are precluded from sugar and starch for the next 3 weeks, but then I will DEFINITELY be making this cake, and will share our comments.
        Thanks again for this sharing via this wonderful tool.
        Priceless!

  3. mschro permalink
    January 8, 2011 2:04 am

    All your pictures are so beautiful! love your posts.

  4. Amy permalink
    January 31, 2011 2:43 am

    I made this cake for a group of friends any everyone loved it. Even my husband who hates cake asked it I would make it again. Thank you for the great recipe.

    • February 1, 2011 3:03 am

      I’m so glad you liked it. And wow, even impressed the husband. How good is that!!! ~pat

  5. February 4, 2011 7:48 pm

    Hi Pat, I’m back. I wanted to ask if a person could use dried fruit to do the frosted fruit look. I am in the process of getting my Valentine’s dinner in order and have some wonderful whole dried cherries and would love to frost them as you have your blue berries. This cake is so beautiful…. If not I will need to get some fresh cherries or maybe go with the blueberries. I would also like to know how to subscribe to your site? I am new to blogging and trying to learn so many new things. Would love to follow you….RaeDi

    • February 4, 2011 7:58 pm

      Hi RaeDi, I have no idea about the dried cherries so try it and see how it looks. It could be really cool looking. If you like it, send me a picture. I would love to see your finished product. To subscribe, look at the top of the page above the “Dancing in the Kitchen” logo and there should be a subscribe button in the gray band across the top. Looking forward to hearing from you again! ~p

      • February 4, 2011 8:05 pm

        Thank you, I will try and send you a picture either way! I saw the subscribe button at the top just now, if it were a snake… thanks. I look forward to seeing what else your creative mind comes up with….RaeDi

  6. March 8, 2011 2:29 pm

    My mom told me about your blog. Everything looks so delicious!! I will add your blog to my “must read” list on my blog.

Leave a Reply

