Skip to content

Where is Spring?

January 17, 2011

Photo by Gerik

I feel so distant from the possibilities of Spring. The snow is coming down, it’s cold and it’s dark. The fresh flavors of spring or summer would really improve my outlook on life right about now. But where…?

I have been known to judge a restaurant by the quality of their bread and butter. The gold standard for me is when the bread is served with a butter laced with fresh herbs and a pinch of salt. Yum!

So, on this snowy day my touch of spring flavor is going to be some decadent fresh herb butter with a beautiful loaf of homemade Sage and Kalamata Olive artisan bread (recipe to be posted next week). I’m so thankful that the grocery stores carry a supply of fresh herbs year around and although it seems fairly expensive, today I count it cheap for a few blissful meals in winter.

My favorite combination of fresh herbs in butter besides fresh garlic is sweet basil, dill and parsley. I’ve also used chives, rosemary, sage and tarragon . Anything fresh in the herb world is fair game. A good brand of butter is a must and don’t forget a pinch of salt to finish.

There are several recipes for fresh herb butter as well as uses for it on the internet so I encourage you to go crazy, look up a few ideas, try my combination or invent one for yourself! I’m here to remind you that the taste of Spring is as close as the produce section of your grocery store.

Go taste Spring!

Fresh Herb Butter

1 pound butter, room temp.

1/2 to 1 cup chopped fresh herbs (basil, dill, parsley or your choices)

3-4 cloves fresh garlic, minced (adjust to your taste)

Salt to taste

To the softened butter, add the garlic and fresh herbs.  Fresh parsley always seems to be a staple in all my combination’s of herb butters.  Mix the butter well and taste.  Add salt until you can taste both the butter and herbs as a nice combination.

There are several ways to store the herb butter.  Some I put in a butter dish for immediate use and the rest I roll into a log and wrap well in plastic wrap.  If you plan to use the butter within the next couple of weeks then store it in the refrigerator, if not put it in the freezer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

