Skip to content

Peach Cobbler

April 25, 2011

Photo by Pat

Last summer was a summer full of fresh peaches. Friends from church offered to purchase the peaches from the Amish for me which really made it easy! My daughter-in-law, Tanya, and I processed peaches several weeks in a row and I am so glad we did.

My first thought, as I opened my freezer the first time, was “what in the world was I thinking!”. But now I open my freezer and feel blessed that I still have several more packages of peaches and a few more peach cobblers in my future.

I have found that peaches really lose their flavor when they are baked in a pie. As a little girl, I would comment to my Mother that I was swallowing goldfish as I slipped a sliced peach in my mouth and swallowed it.   I had to make it fun somehow!  Mother would roll her eyes and she would comment that she wished they would taste as good as fresh, too.

Occasionally I have added a little bit of instant peach tea mix to my peach mixture when baking pies and it does intensifies the flavor. Try it sometime, it’s fun.

But the best peach cobbler is this recipe. It’s a remake of a recipe I came across on the internet. I’ve tweaked it here and there to fit my tastes as I’m sure you will too.

Anyway you do it, it’s a keeper and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Peach Cobbler

Crust:

2 1/2 cups flour

3 T. white sugar

1 tsp.  salt

1 cup shortening

1 egg

1/4 cup cold water

Mix the flour, salt and sugar together.  Rub in the shortening.  Measure the cold water and whip in the egg.  Mix the liquid with the dry mix and make a dough.  Sometimes it takes more water.

Filling:

Photo by Pat

6 cups thawed frozen peaches including juice

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

3/4 cups orange juice

1/2 cup butter

2 cups white sugar

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

3 heaping T. cornstarch

Pour the peaches, juices, butter into a microwave dish.  Mix the sugar, cornstarch and spices together until well blended and then pour it all into the peach mixture and stir until well blended.  Put dish into the microwave and microwave on high, stirring occasionally.  Filling should cook and become thick.

Roll out 1/2 of the pie crust and line a 9 x 13 pan ( I like to use a deeper but smaller pan).  Pour in the hot peaches.  Roll out the rest of the pie crust and cut strips.  Arrange the strips as you wish.  I usually finish off with a liberal handful of sanding sugar on top.

Bake the pie at 350 degrees for about 1 hour or until the crust is brown.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 8:11 pm

    Oh, that looks so delicious!!

  2. April 25, 2011 10:38 pm

    Isn’t that great to still be able to have homegrown peaches so many months later. I love being able to freeze or can my extra. But I know that what was I thinking feeling!

  3. May 11, 2011 8:25 pm

    Mmm this looks delicious–and gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

