Skip to content

Buttermilk Cream Biscuits

May 16, 2011

Photo by Gerik

The last time I was at the store, I purchased one of those ½ gal containers of buttermilk. I must have slipped back into a time when I was young and our family drank buttermilk instead of “sweet” milk. As a kid, I would top off a bowl of broken up day old cornbread with buttermilk for a quick meal before catching the last rays of sunshine with the neighborhood kids on the block. Buttermilk was a staple at my house. So much so, Mom sometimes made it fresh for us to drink.

My current home is another story. I can’t remember the last time I drank a glass of buttermilk but here I was with a ½ gal container in my fridge that was about to expire and I didn’t know what to do with it. For the lack of knowing what to do, into the freezer it went.

Have you ever frozen buttermilk? What a treat!! I’ve always yearned for a good strong tasting buttermilk biscuit and I think I stumbled onto a key ingredient, frozen creamy buttermilk solids.

After the buttermilk was frozen, I thawed it in the refrigerator a few days. It seems to thaw very slowly so when I first poured out what I thought was buttermilk, it was just thin watery whey. I waited a bit more and then poured off the rest of the thin milky stuff and at the bottom I found what almost looks like sour cream only it’s buttermilk cream. That’s where all that yummy sour taste comes from.

Grabbing my quick “go to” recipe for biscuits, I made a batch and surprise! They were the best I have had in a long time. Yes, I used a box biscuit recipe but the outcome was nothing like a box mix. So check out the modified recipe below. Can’t get much easier than that.The biscuits turn out moist and flavorful, even the next day they weren’t dry and crumbly.

If you like a good Southern buttermilk biscuit full of extra flavor, this may be it!

Buttermilk Cream Biscuits

Photo by Pat

Makes 4 large biscuits

2 cups of Bisquick Baking Mix
½ cup creamy buttermilk solids
½ cup buttermilk

Place the baking mix in a mixing bowl. Add the buttermilk solids on top then pour over the buttermilk. Stir the dry into the wet and then gather the dough pieces together, sprinkle with a bit of flour first, into a ball.

Photo by Pat

Kneed a couple of times (I usually do about 5 turns) on a floured board. Pat out the dough to about 1-1 ¼ inch thick. Cut into biscuits. Place biscuits in a liberally oil coated glass baking dish and flop them over and back into the oil to bake. It’s an easy way to oil the tops of the biscuits before baking. Bake at 450 degrees for 15 minutes or until light golden brown on the bottom and the tops are just beginning to color. The rest will just be instinct!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 2:32 pm

    I want to reach into the screen and grab that biscuit before the jam slides off! I like that the recipe is small, with just my wife and me in the house we’re always freezing our extras or just eating too many.

    • May 16, 2011 2:39 pm

      Yup, Just Joe and I at home as well. . . . but I do have neighbors that are most willing to help!

Leave a Reply

