Skip to content

Æbleskiver

June 2, 2011

Photo by Gerik

Traveling to exotic places has opened my mind to the many wonderful ways people cook. There are many similarities which make me smile; tortillas, pita, and naan for example.   But with all the travel I’ve done, far and wide, little did I know that I would find my favorite experience closest to home.

My daughter-in-law, Tanya, comes from Danish heritage and she learned to cook some of the most fun Danish foods from the food-pros in her family.  Of all the delicacies, Aebleskiver is my favorite.  She has been handed down two authentic Aebleskiver pans steeped with the love and special memories of her Danish ancestors.

I’ve often looked at the Aebleskiver pans sold by Williams and Sonoma  along with the easy to use mixes also on sale in their store.  But their Aebleskivers  just don’t look the same as Tanya’s so I’ve been reluctant to purchase.  Besides, after the mix is used up then what do I do besides buy more mix?  You are clever that way Mr. Williams.

Last Saturday night was our annual Aebleskiver feed. While we often have them in smaller batches through out the year, this was the big one. 30 of our closest friends. During preparation, I paid close attention to how Tanya makes her dough.  It appears that the key to prime Aebleskivers is leavening.  You will note that there are 3 or 4 different leavenings (things that make dough rise) in this recipe.  It’s pretty foolproof.

As for the pans, they are available from  fancy cooking stores but I’ve found them at antique markets and lately electric ones have hit the market.  We tried the electric one at our feed and it preformed well.  What ever one you choose, this recipe will make it a fun and tasty experience.

And what did we serve with our Aebleskivers?  Pear and Ginger Applesauce, Bacon, and Serbian Eggs.

Æbleskiver

Makes 32  (5-6 per person)

4 egg yolks

Photo by Gerik

1 ½ c buttermilk
1 tsp yeast mixed with 1/8th c warm water – let it get bubbly
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp soda
2 tsp sugar
2 ½ c Bisquick
4 egg whites, beaten stiff

Beat egg yolks then add the buttermilk.  Stir in the dry ingredients.  Fold in the beaten egg whites and let the batter sit for 10 minutes.

To make– place a few drops of oil in each well of the pan.  Add ¼ cup batter to each hole and let cook until it begins to brown.  I use an upholstery needle to reach into the batter at the edge and pull up a little.  Just bringing up the pancake as it cooks allowing the uncooked portion to flow back into the pan.  Eventually you will make it into a continuous ball.  A toothpick or needle into the center will tell you if it’s done.

Photo by Gerik

Serve with butter, sugar, jams or syrup.  Once you get the hang of it, try making filled pancakes by adding a teaspoon of jam, chocolate chips or cooked bacon in the center before the turning process begins.

Photo by Gerik

. . . . and now the finished product!

Photo by Gerik

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 3:23 pm

    I’d never heard of this! Very cool post. They look beautiful and tasty.

  2. June 2, 2011 7:17 pm

    They look so yummy!!

  3. Sara permalink
    June 3, 2011 8:14 pm

    I think we need to change it from an annual thing to a quarterly thing…or monthly, heck, I’d be up for bi-weekly! You guys do such a great job. Thanks so much for sharing such an interesting tradition with us.

  4. Jeri Herrera permalink
    June 3, 2011 8:25 pm

    This was a lot of fun and Pat, a nice tribute to my daughter who has learned a lot of her culinary skills from you. We hope to be included next year in this annual event! jeri

  5. Linda Burkhardt permalink
    August 8, 2011 1:29 am

    My father, being of Danish heritage, brought aebleskivers to our family when he married my mother. The tradition passed on and I received my own treasured cast iron pan as a bridal shower gift some 45 years ago and I still use it today, making them for my children, and now my grandchildren. Beautiful and round as the picture above is how they should look although I must confess the cooking frenzy and addition of applesauce, or other treats sometimes affects perfection in appearance. Nonetheless, a favorite of mine and a tradition my family holds dear.

    • August 9, 2011 12:26 pm

      I love cooking items with such a rich history. Your grandchildren are lucky to have you provide fun and fabulous tradition!

Leave a Reply

