Skip to content

Mini Quiche

June 8, 2011

Photo by Pat

Anticipation is my favorite feeling in the world!  At least it is today.  I’m getting ready for the Lorren family reunion, planning fun things to do, places to sleep and most of all what foods to eat.  The food is the best part.

Mornings on the porch or patio are divine.  It’s not too hot in the early mornings and it draws me out to sit a bit while I drink my coffee and watch the sun stream through the trees.  That is where my first anticipation moment came.  Breakfast for the ladies while the men golf!

My menu includes first and foremost slow (cold) brewed iced coffee and then we’ll have Angel Biscuits with Lavender Jelly, cut cantaloupe with fresh blueberries and my favorite, Mini Spinach Quiche.

Mini Quiche has been a favorite recipe from my catering days.  I can’t tell you how many I have made over the years but I’m sure thousands plus a few.  With this standard recipe, add-ins are limited only to your imagination.

My favorite is the spinach and bacon but broccoli and bacon are a close second.  Cauliflower, asparagus and caramelized onion quiches are also in the running.  But then think of the options in all the cheeses that abound in the market.  The combinations can be limitless.

Of course I’m making my quiches early and packaging them for the freezer.  That morning it’s from the freezer into the oven to give them a wonderful golden glow and we’ll settle in for some good  food and Lorren family stories until the heat of the day chases us back in the house to cool off. I can hardly wait!

Photo by Pat

Mini Quiches
Makes 12

1 Pie Crust (if purchasing pre-made)
1 cup flour
½ tsp. salt
⅓ cup shortening
cold water

Mix salt and flour together then rub in the shortening to make flour coated shortening flakes.  Add water a little at a time until the dough comes together when stirring with a fork.  Gather into a ball and roll dough out to about ¼ inch thick or a little less.  Cut with a cutter, glass or clean large tuna can to the size that fits your muffin pan.  Spray your pan first then slide in the crust and pat in to push out the air pockets.  Try not to stretch the dough.   I use a 6 count muffin tin for large muffins for my quiches..  I like my crust to come up about 1 inch on the sides.

Vegetables, bacon and cheeses
Fresh vegetable of your choice cut into small pieces
I like spinach, broccoli, green onion, asparagus, roasted peppers, or caramelized onions
Grated cheese of your choice
Crispy bacon pieces or Morning Star Breakfast Strips or sausage crumbles which are vegetarian.

Sprinkle  the cut vegetables, cheese and bacon pieces into the bottom of the mini quiches pastries leaving room for custard.  It’s amazing how little it takes.

Custard Filling:

Photo by Pat

½ cup whipping cream
3 beaten eggs
½ tsp. salt
Mix ingredients well.  I keep making the custard filling until all my quiches are filled.

One last ingredient is optional. . . . a light sprinkle of nutmeg!

Bake quiches at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Serve immediately or at room temp.  Freezing for a later date also possible.  The frozen quiches may be warmed in the oven at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes.  They will be golden brown (the centers will puff up) and will taste like fresh made.

This is how I freeze my quiches. Keeps them from getting banged up!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 2:14 am

    That sounds far easier than I imagined. I love your menu. I’m not a golfer, maybe I could sit with the ladies. Kidding. But that food makes it tempting.

Leave a Reply

