Skip to content

Peanut Butter Pie

July 24, 2011

Photo by Chelle

My daughter-in-law Tanya makes a killer Peanut Butter Pie. When family or friends gather, I can count on her to make one – even without much notice.

It’s fun to watch her make the pie because she has made it so many times it’s almost like watching someone dance in the kitchen. Her pies are always impressive looking because she makes double the filling. She does this for two important reasons. One, it makes the pie tall and decadent looking. And two, it satisfies her father’s constant craving for peanut butter. Rarely is there any left when Manuel is around. To be fair, I’ve also seen my son sneak a few spoonfuls out of the bowl as well. So yes, it’s best to make extra.

I have adjusted the filling recipe so that there will be plenty to mound up on top of the pie. But if you have any of those behind-the-scenes snackers, I would suggest increasing the recipe by another half.

I like to serve this pie as the chocolate dessert of choice if I’m doing several dessert selections for a group. The level of chocolate in this pie is just enough to satisfy that segment of friends who love their chocolate. If you’re serious about your chocolate fix, you can add extra chocolate, like some hot fudge sauce on each serving. As my mother would say “that would be adding insult to injury” but in a good way!

Tanya’s Peanut Butter Pie

Chocolate Crust(purchased chocolate crust also may be used)

Photo by Chelle

1 1/4 cup flour
1/3 cup sugar
⅓ cup cocoa
½ tsp salt
Rub in ½ cup shortening, leaving medium sized thin flakes
Add ½ tsp vanilla and 2-3 T. water

9 inch pie pan

Mix pie crust ingredients as you would for a regular pie crust. I found I needed just a bit more water and that rolling it out worked but it was very soft. Pressing it into the pie pan also works. Bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes. Let cool.

Photo by Chelle

Peanut Butter Filling
12 oz. cream cheese, room temp.
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
¾ cup creamy peanut butter
2/3 cup milk
12 oz. Cool Whip, thawed

Mix cream cheese until smooth, add powdered sugar, peanut butter and milk. Mix with hand mixer until smooth. Fold in cool whip by hand and pour into pie crust mounding it high. Refrigerate the pie for at least 6 – 8 hours.

Garnish with grated chocolate, chocolate curls or fudge sauce. Whatever your think will tickle your fancy and delight your guests.

Finished!! Photo by Chelle

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 5:10 pm

    Gorgeous! I love the twice the filling trick and that crust is just perfect. Can’t go wrong with chocolate and peanut butter.

  2. Erica permalink
    October 28, 2011 8:51 am

    This looks absolutely delicious. I recently came across your blog, love it! I have to try this recipe when I go visit my parents around Christmas, my mother absolutely loves peanut butter (me too of course)!

    • October 28, 2011 1:43 pm

      Great to hear from you! Yes, I’m sure you and your Mother will both enjoy this pie. It’s a fun pie to make too!

Leave a Reply

