Skip to content

“The Versatile Blogger” Award

August 30, 2011

Wow,  the coveted “The Versatile Blogger Award” . . . .sweeeet!  I feel so honored.  Thanks A Pinch Of Sweet .  Those Salted Caramel Fudge Squares are to die for.   Baking is my first love so it’s nice to know a kindred spirit!

The rules after accepting the Versatile Blogger Award are:
1. Thank the person who gave the award and link back to them in your post.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Pass this award along to 15 recently discovered blogs.

Now to fulfill the rules, hmmmm!

1. I’ve never met a piece of chocolate I didn’t like. Well, except that one time, but we all made a pact never to mention that again. To anyone. Ever.
2. When faced with a culinary challenge, I will typically face it down like I would an oncoming zombie attack. With a sharp knife.
3. I sometimes cook without measuring the ingredients just to see what happens.
4. I once cooked a meal for 30+ people while 2 baboon’s sat outside the shack going through the garbage and eating it.
5. I believe in the power of meat substitutes.
6. The first really large group I catered for, I did so while still cooking out of my home. We made a Mexican feast of Enchiladas, re-fried beans and Spanish rice. The food was placed on a round table in the middle of the serving hall kitchen and my husband and our children walked around the table, dishing up servings while singing “Enchiladas beans and Rice!” to the beat of a cha-cha.

7. I am never so happy as when I’m cooking with loved ones. No matter the degree of difficulty, how much or how fast it needs to get done, cooking with my sister or my children is the most fun and the dearest to my heart of anything else I do in the kitchen. And I wish I could do more of it.

 

10 (sorry it’s not 15) recently discovered blogs, in no particular order of importance.  They all have a unique twist but what I really enjoy the most are the pictures.  I never buy a cookbook without good pictures!!


The Cooking Basics

Sweet Pea’s Kitchen

My Sister’s Kitchen

101 Cookbooks

Parsley, Sage, Desserts and Line Drives

Kiss My Spatula

Smitten Kitchen

Local Kitchen

Manna & Quail

Rufus’ Food & Spirit Guide

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 6:56 pm

    Thanks so much for including me on a really good list! Congrats on the award too, well deserved.

  2. September 7, 2011 2:17 am

    Thank you so much for the honor. I glad you found my blog because now I’m enjoying yours as well!

Trackbacks

  1. Planting season… again? | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

