Skip to content

Journey to Apricot Goodness

September 13, 2011

Photo by Pat

Besides being an awesome place in general, Yakama Washington, in my opinion, grows some of the best fruits in the region. I grew up in Pendleton, OR which is just Southeast of Yakama. Mom and Dad would make treks over to purchase lugs of peaches, apricots and whatever else was growing that time of year. Mom loved specific kinds of peaches like Red Havens and Tilton apricots. I was too young to remember why but I would guess it was because they came quickly off the pit while canning them.

At any rate, she would pack the car full of all the ripe goodness she could find and then we’d head home. I loved being sandwiched in the back seat of the car by all those sweet flavors. The car didn’t have air conditioning so all the windows were down allowing the air to swirl the smells of the spearmint fields through the car as well as hiding the noise of my sticky fingers searching for the next sweet piece and shoving it into my mouth.

Fresh picked fruit also meant fruit pies and cobblers. One of my favorites was apricot pie. Once I married, apricot pie fell out of favor in the new Parmele household but I could always count on getting a piece from my sister. Sharon makes a delicious apricot pie and I’ve never found any recipe to surpass hers.

I always loved my sister philosophy regarding summer’s bounty of fresh fruit. She just commented in my last email that she and Dick are eating a lug of fresh peaches and they can hardly bear to look at another one. On it marches through the summer.

This recipe makes a beautiful glossy pie. With a big scoop of vanilla ice cream and it’s bound to hit the spot on a warm summer day.

Photo by Pat

Apricot Pie

Double Crust Pie Recipe
2 cups flour
⅔ cup of shortening
1 tsp salt
3-4 T of cold water (more if needed)

Mix the flour and salt together and rub in shortening to make thin Wheaties sized flakes. Stir in the water and bring the dough together, adding drops or more water if there is still dry mix left. Gather dough into a ball and knead twice at the most. Divide the dough in half. Roll one half to the size of your pie plate. Roll the other ball into the top piece.

Apricot Filling:
2 lbs. fresh apricots, pitted and quartered
1 T fresh lemon juice
¾ c sugar
¼ c firmly packed light brown sugar
2 T quick cooking tapioca
⅛ tsp salt
⅛ tsp cinnamon
2 T butter

Mix the sugars, salt, cinnamon with the tapioca and pour over the cut up apricots. Let sit for 15 minutes while you make the crust.

Add the lemon juice, mix and pour into the pie crust. Dot with butter pieces. Cut steam holes in the top crust . . . . I make a “J” in mine for “Baby (Joe, my husband) and Me”. Moisten the rim of the bottom crust with water and place top crust on lightly pressing the rim to seal. Trim the over hanging crust and crimp using your preferred style.

Dust the top of the pie with sugar or sanding (coarse) sugar and put it in a 350 degree oven for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. The middle needs to bubble just once and you will know it’s done.

It’s best to serve the pie at room temperature which allows the tapioca to thicken properly. Of course I have never let that stop me!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 7:00 pm

    This is simply stunning!

Leave a Reply

