Skip to content

Pluot Pie

September 21, 2011

Photo by Gerik

Two apricot pies this season and I still have a craving for one more. But now that the season is over, there isn’t an apricot to be had anywhere. Now that was a quick season.

I know that the cross between plums and apricots known as Pluots have been around a while but I have never tried them. I’m the only plum eater in our house and a handful seems to satisfy me and my plum craving for the season, but now that I’ve got the craving for just one more fruit pie before apple season, the Pluots it is!!

The produce man at Schnucks kindly offered me a taste of a pluot and I was really impressed with their sweetness and firm texture. More like a plum I thought to myself. So I purchased 3 pounds and headed home to see what kind of pie they would make.

The pie hit my all time favorite list with a bang. Most of the pies on my list are the tart variety like rhubarb, lemon, and raspberry so this pie fit right in. The flavors swirled over my tongue in waves of sweet and tartness. Yes, ice cream is a must.

Let me tell you what I learned in making this pie. The key is to slice the fruit thin to allow the sweet to mingle with the tart. I’m fond of tapioca used as the thickeners in my fruit pies for two reasons. The exquisite shine for one and the second is it’s tendency to thicken the pie but still allow it to softly conform to your bowl and mix well with ice cream or whipping cream. Substituting cornstarch will give you a more firm beautiful cut that stands up well before being served.

Pluot Pie

1 recipe double crust for 9” pie, purchased or the recipe below
2 cups flour
1 tsp salt
⅔ cup shortening
¼ cup cold water

Mix the flour and salt together and add the shortening. I like to rub it in which provides large thin flakes of shortening, don’t mix too much! Add in the cold water while mixing lightly with a fork. Add more water if needed. Bring the mixture into a ball and knead 2 times. Divide in half and roll out to fit your pie pan.

Filling:

Photo by Pat

6 cups thinly sliced pluots
1 cup sugar (more if you rather have a decidedly sweet pie)
¼ cup quick cooking tapioca (or 2 T cornstarch or 4 T flour)
½ tsp. cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg
1 T Peach Schnapps
1 dash of salt
4 T butter

Mix the thinly sliced pluots with the sugar and rest of the ingredients except for the butter. Let mixture set for at least 20 minutes and stir a couple of times.

Make your crust and roll it out. Pour in the plum cot filling and dot with the butter. Cover with the pie crust and seal the edges using your favorite design. I like my fruit pies pinched in case the juice decides to overflow. Don’t forget to cut a design or slits in the top for steam escape. Also I throw on a handful of sugar on the top crust to make it glisten.

Bake for about 1 ¼ hours or until you see bubbles in the middle. If it doesn’t bubble in the middle then it probably isn’t done.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 8:48 pm

    That is easily one of the prettiest pies I’ve seen.

  2. Crystal permalink
    August 23, 2012 6:33 am

    Seriously one of the beet pies I’ve ever made. Used very ripe pluots and substituted peach schnapps for Ouzo (cause that’s what I had on hand) so simple and delicious

  3. July 30, 2014 1:56 pm

    You say how long to bake, but not waht tempature.

    • July 30, 2014 2:47 pm

      I do all my pies at 350 degrees. I will have to make a change on my recipe. Thanks for bringing it to my attention! 🙂

      • July 30, 2014 10:04 pm

        Great, thanks. About to put two together now.

  4. August 20, 2014 8:00 pm

    Looks beautiful 🙂 If I do not have peach schnapps could I use something else? Or just remove completely?

    • August 20, 2014 8:12 pm

      I used the peach to boost the apricot flavor higher than the plum flavor. You might like it without the additional boost so give it a try. One radical thought…..do you have a bit if instant peach flavored instant ice tea? Try a little sprinkle and I really mean just a little. Like a shake of the salt shaker little. That may just do the trick. Good luck with your pie!

Leave a Reply

