Skip to content

Southwestern Pinto Bean Soup

January 2, 2012

Photo by Pat

Oh my!   My scales say what? Are you kidding?

The holidays were good to me this year, a pound here and a pound there.  Why must I feel like I’m not enjoying myself unless I have all the Christmas goodies which includes enjoying every bite even the leftovers.  Oh well, the damage is done!

My mission today was to search for really yummy foods that would magically dissolve the pounds and fully satisfy my food addiction. Yes, I know, unrealistic expectations on my part but I can hope, right?

Pinterest has a few fun ideas which I pinned but what really caught my eye was a Southwestern vegetarian chili from food.com.  The lead-in to the recipe stated that it was modified to take out the fat and to boost the flavors.  Just what I needed.

Let me state right up front, this is not your ordinary chili soup recipe.  The flavors that really makes this dish zing come from the smokey chipotles with a liberal dose of fresh lime juice.  Flavors that meld perfectly with the condiments of avocado, Frito’s, and tomatoes.

The recipe is vegetarian, even vegan/gf but additions of sour cream and shredded cheddar cheese would be so yummy if you have the calories to spare.    I think I will eat mine with a side of corn bread, with maybe some honey!

Southwestern Pinto Bean Soup
Makes 8 cups

1 c Vegetable Stock or Broth
2 T minced garlic
2 med. onions, diced
1 large red bell pepper, I roasted mine first to boost the flavor
1 ½ c dry pinto beans, sorted and washed
2 tsp. cumin
2 tsp. oregano
2 chipotle peppers, diced, plus add some adobe sauce
4 cups water
1 can corn, drained
3 oz. tomato paste
1 lime, juiced
2 tsp. salt

Condiments:
Avocado, cilantro, green onions, Frito’s, quartered cherry tomatoes

Heat the vegetable broth in a large pan or slow cooker.  Add the garlic, onions and pepper.  Simmer 1 or 2 minutes.  Add the pinto beans, cumin, oregano, peppers, water and corn.  Cover and cook (simmer on the stove or on “high” for slow cooker) until beans are cooked.  Usually 3-4 hours.   When the beans are soft, take out 1 cup of beans and juice and place in a small deep bowl.  Stir in the tomato paste and blend with an immersion or blending wand until creamy.  Return to the pot of beans and add the lime juice and salt. Serve with bowls of condiments of your choice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

