Skip to content

Pineapple Sweet Rolls

May 8, 2011

Photo by Gerik

Today, I was overwhelmed with the desire for Pineapple Sweet Rolls.  They are the ultimate comfort food as they remind me of my childhood home and the laughter and love represented there.  They say you can never go home again but when I really need it, this comes the closest.

Several weeks ago, I met with my older brother Tom and my sister Sharon to celebrate Tom’s birthday.  We visited and relieved many memories.  Strangely we all grew up with different memories because we are each 10 years apart in age.   Brother Tom lived in the early years, Sharon in the middle years and I was the tag-a-long growing up in the years when Mom and Dad were approaching retirement.  The fourth sibling, Larry, was unfortunately out traveling the world that week and we missed him terribly, but he was there in spirit.

Despite all of our different memories, the one unifying memory for all of us was food.  We all  enjoyed the fruit filled sweet rolls Mother use to make almost weekly.  Each of us have our favorites, prunes, peaches, apricots but mine is pineapple.

I’ve taken some shortcuts to make my sweet rolls but the taste is the same.  Those of you who enjoy the long method of making your sweet roll dough, go ahead.  I’m usually in too much of a hurry to get to the end result of enjoying the sweet goodness I remember from home.

Pineapple Sweet Rolls

Photo by Pat

Makes 8

Filling:
1 20-oz. can Crushed Pineapple in 100% Pineapple Juice
¼ cup sugar or Splenda
1 T. butter
¼ tsp. cinnamon
2 T. cornstarch mixed with a little of the juice
dash of salt

Dough:
1 box Pillsbury Hot Roll Mix

White Frosting:
2 T. softened butter
2 T. milk
1 lb. powdered sugar or enough to make a spreadable frosting

Instructions:
Make the filling first.  To make the filling, place the can of crushed pineapple with juice in a saucepan or microwaveable bowl.  Mix in the sugar, butter, cinnamon and cornstarch.  Cook, stirring constantly (or microwave) until filling is thick and glossy.  Set aside while you make your dough.  Although the filling is hot when you spread it on your dough, it will only make your rolls raise faster.

Mix the dough using the hot roll mix and mix according to directions.  Beware! if this is your first time making sweet dough, you may be tempted to add additional flour to make it more  like bread dough.  Don’t do that, you want the dough to be very soft and sticky.

To make the sweet rolls, roll out the dough into a 10×15 rectangle.  Spread the hot pineapple filling over the dough and roll and flop the dough into a log trying to keep the filling from flowing out.  It’s messy but that’s okay because it will be really yummy when done.  Cut into 8 sections and move each one into an oiled 9×13 glass dish, scooping up what falls out and placing on top of the rolls.  The hot filling will make the dough raise fast and in just 15-20 minutes the rolls will be ready for the oven.

Bake in a 375 degree oven for about 20 minutes or until light golden brown.  Let cool a bit before frosting generously.

Photo by Pat

To make the frosting.  Melt the butter, add milk and hand stir in the powdered sugar until it’s semi-thick and creamy.  I love the use my hands to frost my rolls.  That way the frosting gets down in all the nooks and crannies.

Ahh, now for a taste!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 1:51 pm

    What a great twist on a cinnamon or orange roll and they just look so perfectly gooey. Great recipe, and of course photos.

  2. May 8, 2011 11:30 pm

    These look delicious, so much so I am going to make them this week…the photo’s do them justice, I can taste them….RaeDi

    • May 9, 2011 12:59 am

      Yea! Hope you like them as much as my family does.

  3. June 21, 2011 12:59 am

    Absolutely wonderful.

  4. Linda permalink
    March 11, 2013 11:44 pm

    I made these but included sliced almonds. A MUST!!!!!! Fabulous!

  5. October 15, 2013 5:05 pm

    And how many carbs per serving?

    • October 15, 2013 5:07 pm

      I have no idea. For me, everything in moderation!

      • October 15, 2013 5:18 pm

        Hi Pat. I came upon this recipe from a “diabetic friendly” site. Seems a carb/fiber content should be a must. Thanks for replying.

      • October 17, 2013 6:42 pm

        I’m sorry it was reposted under that heading without my permission. I have the capabilities to post carb/fiber content but that is not my intention at this time.

  6. Kate permalink
    February 3, 2014 6:06 pm

    Made these for Super Bowl. HUGE hit.. Wow.. this recipe is a keeper! Thanks for posting it!

    • February 3, 2014 6:38 pm

      Great! Now you have made me hungry for them 🙂

  7. May 28, 2014 4:48 pm

    I made these last night and LOVED them!!! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe— I featured it on my blog today because I loved them so much!

    • May 28, 2014 4:59 pm

      I’m so excited that you made the pineapple sweet rolls. It makes me feel great that the recipe was quick and fun to make. It will give courage to others to try them! 🙂

  8. Mikki permalink
    June 21, 2014 7:10 pm

    I’m going to try these delicious, gooey, portions of heaven this week. My question is do you turn this sticky dough out on a floured board to work in the flour so U can roll out and not stick to the pin?

    • June 21, 2014 8:47 pm

      Yes,I do. Roll it out on a floured board before filling. Try not to incorperate flour in it but just enough to cut down the stickiness! I really hope you enjoy the rolls, they are a favorite if mine!

      • June 30, 2014 2:14 pm

        Making these today, if I can find the Pillsbury hot roll mix at grocery. Ty

      • June 30, 2014 3:15 pm

        So far I have found it all the grocery stores in my area although sometimes it is located in a very out of the way place! Hope you can find it!

  9. July 31, 2015 11:44 pm

    These look great! Do you think I could prepare them the night before and then bake in the morning?

    • August 1, 2015 1:01 am

      I think so, athough I have not tried it. Give a try and let me know how it works out!

Trackbacks

  1. Pineapple Sweet Rolls – The *Ultimate* Comfort Food « Organize KC
  2. Pinworthy Thursday 4-3-14 | Jackatessa's Blog
  3. Pineapple Sweet Rolls | Jackatessa's Blog
  4. 20 Spectacular Sweet Roll Recipes! | Free Homeschool Deals ©

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.